In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first month after the birth of their baby Does advantage outweigh disadvantages

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about how to protect pregnant women’s rights. This has led to the suggestion that we should allow women to request maternity leave after their babies are born. Personally speaking, it is wise to follow this advice as the advantages of this mother-friendly policy outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, the downsides to having a long maternity leave should be recognized for the following reasons. First and foremost, companies will need to find a temporary substitute for the work, which is not easy. For example, the staff members of an educational institute are composed of women. When employees ask for maternity leave, the company is very likely to lose a great deal of money in order to find temporary teachers. In addition, the mothers will be unable to get updated with the recent development of their companies after they return to the workforce. After being detached from their jobs for a while, they need to keep up with the pace of their colleagues ahead of them, and this gap usually results in low productivity and inefficiency. However, this does not necessarily imply that they should be denied access to taking a break after giving birth.

On the other hand, both companies and mothers themselves can benefit from maternity leave in spite of the aforementioned disadvantages. The immediate one is the possibility of retaining professional and dedicated staff. Given this pregnancy-friendly policy, most mothers, especially those who work in a management position, do not need to sacrifice their decent jobs, and neither do companies need to pay a heavy price for losing talented workers. In addition, maternity leave allows women giving birth to take a rest without worrying about financial stress. There has been some evidence that delivery will debilitate women’s health; however, this policy can help them regain their energy. Even better, the mothers have opportunities to enjoy the time with their babies and thereby develop the child-mother relationship.

In conclusion, both of two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that the benefits of giving women maternity leave far outweigh its drawbacks.