What is the most important factor that affect the lasting time of a friendship?

help each other at difficult time

have same interests

trust each other completely

Friendship is one of the eternal themes that human discussthroughout time and history. While some friendships were ephemeral like blinks, some are long lasting for some reasons. From my point of view, compared with same interests and complete trust, it is help at difficult time that plays a determinant role in deciding the lasting time of a friendship.

To begin with, the experience of receiving help at critical moment could imprint on one’s memory for a comparatively longer period of time, in that the protagonist must have suffered either mentally or physically, and the effect of salvation was therefore amplified. The same theory applies vice versa. Numerous pieces of literature have proved the validity of this rule.

For example, in the world-sweeping fiction, Harry Potter, the friendship of the three leading roles was unbreakable because of their joint fight against the antagonist. What is especially impressive was their struggle on the way to seek and destroy the seven Horcrux of Voldemort. Harry fell into freezing water in search of the sorting hat, and when he emerged to the surface, he was ambushed by death eaters. Then Ron rushed out of the woods to save him even though they were at odds. Countless moments like this were on their way to a peaceful wizardry world, but with their help with each other, they won and were friends for a life time.

On the contrary, the same interests do not seem like a permanent element since people change their hobbies frequently. On Monday, one likes Taylor Swift, but on Friday, she is fan of Justin Bieber. When she was 12, she was into philosophy and when she turns 18, she was an amateur rock climber. If the two friends were bound simply by same interests, then their friendship would easily fall apart because of a single change.

On top of that, complete trust does not come from nowhere; it must be built on something tangible and solid. In this case, the foundation can best be help at difficult time, because one can be sure that when he is in trouble, first, his friend will come, and second, his friend will be able to offer help. Then naturally the friendship is strengthened due to this piece of shared experience.

For example, I went to Doucheng country, a place famous for breath-taking view of snow mountains, last month with my friends. Unfortunately, because of the exceedingly high altitude, my body reacted in a way that I had not expected. I threw up late at night, and my heart rate spiked. My friends knew about this and sent me to the hospital immediate despite of the cold weather and the drowsiness. However, even though I inhaled oxygen, the symptoms did not ease. Then the doctor advised that the best solution is to leave the plateau and return to the plain. They did not hesitate a second, and drove 14 hours to bring me back to Chengdu. After that I knew I have them and our friendship will last long.

In a nutshell, the most important factor that affect the lasting time of a friendship is to help each other at critical moment. Interests may change, but shared experience will not; Complete trust is built on difficult time spent together.