Some people think that some lessons include video games as a way to make children's interest in study. Other people think it is distracting and waste time. Which one do you prefer?

Currently, with the advancement of technology, there is an increasing number of individuals considering to employ technology, such as video games, in teaching. However, a myriad of people harbor the idea that video games are distracting and those time-wasters should not be adopted as a kind of pedagogical method. Personally speaking, I reckon that it is plausible and feasible to include video games in lessons and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, video games enable teachers to inculcate tedious knowledge in a more vivid way, thus improving students’ mastery of theoretical knowledge. It is widely acknowledged that regardless of the policy of free compulsory education implemented by the authority, our country is still suffering from unbalanced education inequality and the inequality is still widening by the unbalanced fund and resource distribution. Worse still, owing to the unbalanced education fund allocation, some schools located in remote regions cannot afford to purchase experiment facilities which are usually sold at an exorbitant price. Thus, those students enrolling in such schools can only learn chemistry and physics knowledge through those equations, theorems, and laws printed in the textbooks, or plow through the tedious theoretical knowledge through their imagination. However, if video games can be adopted as a way to impart knowledge, students can be entitled to explore the wonderland of chemistry and physics in an animated approach. For instance, they can have a close look at how photons can interact with each other surrounding them, which absolutely enhances their understanding of knowledge and prevents them from rote learning. Meanwhile, even for those schools which are equipped with sufficient distributed funds, they can utilize video games as a way to save the expenditure spent on conducting experiments, therefore the money conserved can be allocated to other significant domains to upgrade their education quality in all-round. Hence, it is not only useful but also economical for teachers to facilitate their teaching.

What’s more, employing video games in lessons is also a motivator for students, especially those who are visual and kinesthetic learners. To be more specific, every individual is instilled by their parents or guardians that learning is of great significance and we can benefit from learning well. However, majorities of us fail to persist in learning. What is the reason triggering this problem? I am convinced that it is the lack of instant feedback that gives rise to such a problem. Students cannot learn continuously since they are no longer motivated by instant feedback. Provided that video games are utilized in lessons, students can gain experience or virtual coins through doing practices, answering questions or participating in quizzes. Driven by such momentum, it is self-explanatory that they are more energetic to delve into the profound knowledge instead of just dipping in it.

Admittedly, there is a possibility that some students who lack self-regulation are likely to develop an addiction to video games, nevertheless, this problems can be easily tackled by regular reminders and appropriate parental or teachers’ control. With those measures, they will not be enslaved with the addiction to video games.

In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my view that video games can be used as a way to engage children’s interests in the study since it enables us to explore the wonderland of knowledge and incentivize us to commit continuous studies by providing instant feedback.