Ambitious dreams or realistic dreams

Currently, the whole society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, thus a bunch of individuals, driven by the enthusiasm of realizing their dreams, are endeavoring to formulate their dreams. However, a myriad of citizens harbor the idea that the youngsters are supposed to dream bigger since merely ambitious dreams can guide or pave their ways to achieve success. Personally speaking, I stand on the opposite side. I suggest that realistic and facile dreams ought to be set and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, realistic dreams are more approachable. To be more specific, it is always burdensome for us to realize ambitious dreams, not to mention achieving such dreams in a modern society saturated with fierce and stiff competition. Therefore, making ambitious dreams probably, on one hand, fails to enable us to make progress in our own lives, on the other hand, it may end up biting us in the downside, which means that we are likely to be burdened with the sense of inferiority. On the contrary, having realistic dreams does not mean we cannot achieve great success in the long run. As the saying goes, a journey of a thousand miles starts with a footstep, that is to say, the accumulation of any little achievement that we have made during the process of realizing our facile dreams can finally constitute the stepping stones of achieving ambitious dreams.

What’s more, it is also more plausible and reasonable to have realistic dreams. Nowadays, there is an increasing number of successful businessmen who become millionaires from scratch, thus inflamed by the mirage erected by the publishing world, numerous city dwellers are wondering they can imitate those millionaires and replicate their success without casting any doubt on the so-called success science and their own capabilities. Nevertheless, provided that achieving great success is that easy, why there are merely one Steven Jobs in America and one Jack Ma in China over decades? To put it bluntly, we ought to make realistic dreams that are under our reach by taking varieties of factors into consideration, such as personal capabilities in different aspects, social networks, the situation of the economy and so on. In addition, the most important thing that we should keep in mind is that having ambitious dreams is not equated with achieving those dreams. Nothing can be carved in stone, but the saying “Every a little makes a mickle” will not change with the period.

Admittedly, having ambitious dreams is not without merit. For instance, ambitious dreams enable us to formulate our future plan in the long run instead of leading a parochial life. Nevertheless, the listed advantage is based on the strong personal ability to predict future development and advancement and majorities of people are not endowed with such ability.

In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my opinion that the optimal option for us is to have realistic dreams since such dreams are more approachable and facile. In addition, it can also contribute to the fulfillment of ambitious dreams.