Some people believe that we should always follow our dreams, even if the dreams seem too ambitious. Others think that we should focus on achieving realistic goals. Which view do you agree with and why? Please provide a detailed explanation and examples.

Individuals have different views on the topic of following one’s dreams. Some argue that we should always follow our dreams, even if they’re too ambitious. Others claim that it’s better to focus on realistic goals. While both views have merit, I agree with the view that we should always follow our dreams because it is a more fulfilling approach.

First, pursuing our dreams results in a more rewarding and satisfying life. We have dreams because we want to create that ideal situation for ourselves. Therefore, we will experience a greater reward once that situation comes to fruition. Focusing on realistic goals does lead to happiness, but unlike a dream, it may not truly be what we want. Persistence is important when attaining a goal, and without a strong desire for that goal, we may not accomplish it. Thus, if we focus on realistic goals instead of dreams, we may not achieve either of them. However, because of the higher level of persistence that we have with dreams, we’re actually more likely to make them a reality.

Second, dreams push us beyond our understanding of what’s possible, so they may not actually be as ambitious as initially thought. Setting high aspirations and doing everything we can to reach them both tests our physical and mental abilities and uncovers hidden capabilities that we didn’t know we had. For example, people thought it was impossible to run a mile in under four minutes for decades. Once Roger Bannister showed the world that it was possible in the 1950s, many other athletes followed suit, with John Landy also shattering the 4-minute barrier just six weeks after Bannister. Thus, pursuing our dreams helps us overcome the psychological barriers we set for ourselves by thinking they’re overly ambitious.

Finally, we should pursue our dreams because our definition of ambition changes, and what may be considered an unrealistic dream today may very well be possible in the future. This is evidenced by advances in society and technology. Modern computers, for example, have helped us discover cures for diseases, create complex city and logistics systems, and allow us to communicate with loved ones who live far away. At one time, none of this technology existed, and we could not have envisioned how it would impact society or considered it a “realistic” goal. However, because many people aimed for their dreams, they were able to change the definition of what’s ambitious.

In conclusion, given the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that people should follow their dreams and not settle for just what they think is realistic. That is not to say other opinions are completely out of merit. However, I believe I have substantiated reasons to support my point of view.