What is the most important factor affecting the lasting time of a friendship

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence and based on this situation, there is an increasing number of individuals attaching more attention the psychological problems, thus a heated discussion has been triggered over the friendship. A bunch of individuals reckon that having common interests in certain subjects is the most pivotal parameter that influences the lasting time of friendship. While others contend that it is the trust that takes the leading place among all factors affecting a friendship. Personally speaking, I cannot concur with the listed opinions. I harbor the idea that helping each other at a difficult time is what exerts tremendous effects on the duration period of friendship and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, helping each other at difficult time renders us an opportunity to reinforce our relationship. To be more specific, when an individual is confronted with problems that are burdensome to tackle, he or she is likely to feel frustrated and depressed. In the certain point, when his or her friends step in and reach out their hands proactively, the individual who gets help from friends tend to regard their friends as trustworthy ones instead of fair-weather friends that we cannot depend on. Under this situation, both parties, the helped individual and the individual offering help for the other feel their friendship has been strengthened. The helped one is informed that there is always a friend standing there and waiting to reach out hands to make concerted efforts to grapple with tough problems. While the warm-hearted one feels that he or she ought to shoulder the responsibility to protect or assist the helped friend. Therefore, little by little, a virtuous circle can be formed, which reinforces their intimate relationship again and again and prolongs the lasting time of their friendship.

What’s more, the experience of helping each other at a difficult time is also a panacea that enables them to patch up their friendship. It is widely acknowledged that it is impossible that friends will not get into a fight or a quarrel with each other. However, what affects the duration of friendship is whether we are capable of ameliorating the spoiled relationship. At the aim of fixing the deteriorated friendship, the experience of helping can play its function. Talking about the shared memorable experience with friends, both sides of the friendship will be incredibly touched and feel regretful to cease the intimate and precious relationship, which provides them with a terrific opportunity to repair their relationship.

Admittedly, other factors mention behind also have some limited effects on maintaining the relationship. Nevertheless, with regard to the common interests, it seems that interests are changeable with the fluctuation of currents. Therefore, the relationship based on interests fails to last long enough. As for the trust between each other, trusts cannot come from nowhere. In other words, without the cherished experience of offering help in certain points, trusts cannot be erected. Therefore, it is self-explanatory that mutual help outweighs than other factors.

In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my opinion that the mutual help plays a pivotal role in maintaining a friendship because, for one thing, it renders us a chance to improve the intimate relationship. For the other, whenever there is a dilemma confronted with the friendship, friends, touched by their shared memorable experience, are willing to patch up their relationship and prevents their friendship from grinding to a halt.