What is the most useful way to help the natural environment?

• Plant more trees and build parks

• Stores stop providing plastic bags

• Increase access to public transportation to reduce the number of cars on the road.

What is supposed to be the most crucial element that benefits the environment? A general controversy rises up when people concern about the effects of some methods used to eliminate environmental problems. Some people reckon that prohibiting the usage of plastic bags or increasing access to public transportation is the superior choice. However, as far as I am concerned, planting more trees and erecting more parks should be emphasized most and what I state can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, the dominant upside of trees and parks is that they can efficiently tackle air pollution and even can indirectly grapple with other related environmental issues. As we all know, the greenhouse effects and urban heat island effects are imposing greater and greater threats to the maintenance of our plants and lives. The trees and parks that consisted of diversified plants can absorb the carbon dioxide emitted by the vehicles and plants with ease. Needless to say, they can also facilitate species diversity, air circulation, and water circulation. To illustrate, trees can accelerate the movement of water and air molecules, and some large forests are regarded as the lung of the Earth. Diversified plants can provide more animals with comfortable living environments. They can also decrease the loss rate of soil and add more nutrition to the soil, which is conducive to other plants in the future.

Moreover, trees and parks can also reinforce the citizens’ awareness of environmental protection. Trees are beneficial to human beings’ mental and physical health, generating fresh air for people to breathe and relieving people’s eye strains. In addition, parks can also provide ample opportunities for the masses to unwind themselves. If the public is the actual beneficiary of this movement, they will always cherish the benefits that trees and facilities bring to them. Their consciousness will be awakened, and their behaviors will be motivated. The trees and parks are just like the stimuli that always remind people to devote themselves to environmental protection. For example, my parents plant several trees when I was very young, and I really enjoy standing under these trees. Since I benefited a lot from the trees, I decided to cultivate more trees one year later.

Admittedly, stopping utilizing plastic bags and using more public transportation can help the natural environment in a short time, and even cost less. Plastic bags cannot be easily degraded and is detrimental to the environment. Public transportation can reduce the exhaust of carbon dioxide and other poisonous gases that deteriorate the quality of the atmosphere. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that their effects are greatly limited if the masses have no awareness of the essence of environmental protection. At first, the rules may be followed, but with the persistence and accumulation of inconvenience, people may ignore these genuine suggestions and return to their original roads.

In a nutshell, with the reference to the arguments above, planting more trees and building more parks play a key role in the process of safeguarding our green planet. The green resources we leave for our posterity will definitely constitute a steppingstone to a brighter future.