Do you agree or disagree with the statement:

Nowadays it is not important for people to have regular family meals together.

Currently, with the development of technology, some individuals are employing numerous approaches to meeting their goals of family reunions. However, some individuals insist that it is still essential to have regular family meals together, which is irreplaceable in strengthening family bonds. As for this opinion, I cannot concur with it for the following reasons.

To start with, owing to the advancement of society, a large proportion of citizens are studying or working in other cities, or even provinces. Meanwhile, they also have to endeavor to maximize their working efficiency to achieve their goals or maintain self-sustainment. Therefore, they are already burdened with their own affairs, which deprive their free time to relax or refresh their mindsets. Under this situation, provided that they have to participate in the scheduled regular family meals, lots of time that can be utilized to relax is spent on their way home, which is likely to make them feel exhausted. Although they arrive at home on time, they are worn out and do not want to interact with their family members. Things may even go from bad to worse, their parents, due to their lack in experience of living in metropolises, they may put the blame on their children and ascribe their behaviors to the dearth of filial piety, which ends up exerting an adverse effect on their relationships. With the misunderstanding between each other, they are likely to get into a fight and the damages caused by the argument are not easy to patch up, which runs around they initial goals of reinforcing their family ties.

What’s more, arranging regular family meals also exhausts parents. Parents usually contend that their children enslaved by excessive workload are likely to enjoy the homemade delicacies. Plus, parents also think that children are not capable of taking care of themselves, thus they expend a long time to prepare for meals. To be more specific, they may work together to decide the cuisines. And then, based on their decisions on cuisines, they have to get up early to line up in different supermarkets to purchase fresh ingredients. After that, hours have to be spent on chopping the meat and washing vegetables, which, indeed, puts a strain on aging parents. Even when they finish the meals, out of parental love, they tend to wash the dishes and ask their children to watch TV. It is apparent that although parents are extremely tired, little they can spend with their children to have a genuine conversation, not to mention the accomplishment of the goals of strengthening the family relationships.

Admittedly, having regular family meals together does have some perks. Children can share their happiness and sorrows with their parents, which helps them to relieve their pressure. Meanwhile, parents are also capable of interacting with their children. However, the merits are negligible since all of these can be easily replaced by advanced technology. For instance, the video phone call also renders them opportunities to directly talk to each other to maintain their harmonious relationships. Plus, it also saves the time we have to expend on the way home, which is more economical and energy-saving.

In a nutshell, from what has been mentioned above, I have to reiterate my opinion that it is not essential for people to have regular family meals together. For one thing, it is exhausting for children working or studying in remote regions. For another, it also bothers parents since they have to work a lot for the preparation. Nevertheless, there are several approaches that are suitable to reinforce family bonds without much efforts, which are more wise alternatives for modern individuals.