Do you agree or disagree with the statement that people who have different interests and personalities cannot be friends.

The tactics of making friends vary from person to person. A bunch of individuals are convinced that friends are supposed to share common interests, otherwise, their friendships will not be long-lasting. However, in my opinion, a friendship can be built without similar hobbies and different interests and characteristics also contribute to a durable friendship and my reasons can be listed as follows.

To begin with, people’s distinguishable interests and personalities are favorable to strike up a conversation when forming a new acquaintance and conversations lay a solid foundation for making pals. To be more specific, there is no denying that the first ice-breaking step of making friends is to communicate. The number one rule of initiating an intriguing conversation is to associate with the one who does not see eye to eye with us on an issue, said by Doctor David Johnson, a psychological expert at Oxford University. According to his research, the opportunities of becoming acquaints with those who differ with us are higher than making friends with those who go along with us. For instance, my friendship with Lucie testifies this conclusion. We knew each other from a debate contest and we barely have nothing in common, but we enjoy talking about an issue with our own style and challenging the ideas provided by the other. but it is the difference that makes us embrace each other as an approach to enlarging our knowledge aspects.

Moreover, genuine friends have nothing to do with common interests and the trust between pals plays a determinant role in sustaining cherished relationships. It is universally acknowledged that true friends are expected to give each other full backing. When an individual is in a jam, the other is willing to give a helping hand. For instance, Indian actor John Don is the best friend of a politician, Douglas. John is reputed for his funny personalities. In contrast, Douglas is labeled as a serious politician. Douglas said when you show your heart to your friends and have a belief in your mutual relationship, you can end with up with a true friend. Hence, the distinctive differences of each other's personalities rarely determine the ending of friends.

Admittedly, individuals sharing similar topics have a higher likelihood of familiarizing themselves with each other. Nevertheless, the same interests do not seem like a permanent element since people change their hobbies frequently, thus maintaining an eternal friendship requires more than common preferences. Here is a case in point. I was familiarized with Emily, my pal, owing to our common interest in reading. Out of my expectation, our friendship easily falls apart because of a single change in the focus of reading.

In a nutshell, considering the availability of starting a conversation among new acquaintances, the secret of being true friends, and the demands of sustaining a long-lasting relationship between friends, I totally disagree with the statement that people with distinctive personalities and interests cannot make friends.