Which one is the most important factor to help you work productively?

Having an environment which is free of noise and distractions

Knowing that you will receive a reward

Doing something you are interested in

Currently, there is an increasing number of individuals suffering from the excessive workload, thus in order to accomplish their work and school assignments before the close deadlines, they attach great importance to elevate their productivity. Meanwhile, owing to the goal of reaping profits, a bunch of conglomerates also put considerable emphasis on the enhancement of efficiency. In order to combat these problems, both workers and entrepreneurs propose disparate opinions. A myriad of individuals reckon that the environment free of noise and distractions is a determinant factor that enables them to work efficiently. While others are convinced that knowing the reward they can receive after finishing tasks stimulates them to devote wholeheartedly toward their works. Personally speaking, I stand on the opposite side and I contend that interest, as the internal stimulus, is the most significant factor in enhancing my productivity and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, as an internal motivator, interest is and has always been playing a pivotal role in improving individuals’ working efficiency. To be more specific, with the interest toward specific domain, individuals upholding this interest can be wholly engrossed in the work, therefore individuals pay no attention to any affairs happening around them. As time goes by, they will not have a sense of frustration or mental exhaustion. Based on the time they save and spontaneous devotion, it is self-explanatory that their working efficiency is elevated to a large extent. A case that can illustrate this point is Thomas Edison. Edison, as one of the most eminent and distinguishing scientists, was fond of science. With the zeal for science, he worked hours continuously to wrought glamorous inventions which are conducive to the urban civilization. Although at that time, the experimental conditions were not satisfying enough, for instance, there were numerous noises since the laboratory was located near factories, Edison still devoted himself toward the scientific invention without procrastination. This example illuminates that interest, which is doomed as internal momentum, plays a determinant role in elevating working efficiency.

What’s more, with regard to other factors that people contend that they contribute to the improvement of working productivity, both the reward and environment fail to elevate the working productivity successfully. For one thing, as for the environment free of noise and distractions, it is widely acknowledged that, nowadays, living in a society full of diversified glamorous technological devices, it is not the noise, but other electronic devices that become the top-rated time killer, like social media appliances, online videos, mobile phone notification. Thus, even working in an environment free of noise, people can still get distracted owing to the diversified affairs that can engage workers’ interests. With regard to the reward can be received after the accomplishment of tasks, some individuals, after weighing the pros of getting rewards and cons of devotion, are inclined to not to get the reward so as to alleviate the tasks they ought to undertake. Worse still, some greedy workers even fabricate their working yield so as to attain the rewards, which obviously exert a detrimental effect on enterprises’ profits. Consequently, knowing a reward we can receive also fails to elevate working efficiency.

In a nutshell, from what has been mentioned above, since distractions cannot be eradicated from any environment and regarding a reward as a motivator are likely to fail for the sake of workers’ own evaluation of the reward’s value, both of them are not the dominant factor in elevating working productivity. Compared to those two parameters listed above, interest, as the internal stimulus, which cannot be altered and is embedded in the workers’ mindset, is the most significant factor that triumphs other factors.