If the school asks you to do a task that requires creativity, do you prefer working alone or working a group?

Dealing with mission which requires creativity, people resort to multiple ways to achieve a satisfying goal. Some contend that working by oneself can leave them space to figure out the solution more effectively. However, I am convinced that team work can yield more fruits.

Working with others forces people to step outside the comfort zone, thus creating more possibilities to generate innovative ideas. In most cases, individuals have their own set of behavioral pattern formed through long period of time. In other words, we are accustomed to falling into the stereotype due to the experience that is supposed to shorten the thinking time in face of familiar tasks. However, with zero tolerance of ordinary thoughts, the work demanding creative thinking is just the opposite. Being creative means thinking outside the box, which can be hardly triggered when working alone. Team work can be deemed as a process in which every member plays the role of both a supervisor and a co-worker or assistant. When one of them attempts to routinely tackle the problem, others may pinpoint the inadequacy and drive you to ameliorate the original plan. This process can be repeated for several times, which is a perfect illustration of how a team polishes a creative piece of work. For instance, 78% of the designers working for the global luxury brand, Chanel, claim that they have the thought of surrendering to the convential design just to get the job done at least once. One of the respondents, Elise, says it is the existence of partners that urges her to constantly challenge the predictable and to come up with something new.

Collective wisdom shows its significance and efficiency when searching for novelty. Delving into a creative project, people can draw inspiration from other team members, who have various background and all sorts of experiences. We can tap into creativity by gaining clues maybe from the conversation and discussion between teammates. Some unexpected sparks can appear while exchanging thoughts. For example, when one mentions his horse-riding experience, which he sees as casual chitchats, it can be transferred into a pattern representing courage that can be employed in a theme project. The reason why this happens a lot is that a third-person angle provides a new perspective on certain issue. On the contrary, if you are the only person that you can depend on, it will be slower for you to figure out how to obtain the inspiration since one’s surrounding is limited for sure. Even worse, you will probably miss the source of inspiration, which is fatal regarding tasks involving creativity.

In conclusion, working in a group with supervison from teammates and various thoughts brought by them can augment the chance of poping out of innovative ideas so as to finish the task smoothly. Therefore, I firmly believe that team work is a better option.