Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own than by people whose views are different from yours

A glance at people's attitude toward sources of news brings to a light question that has been asked several times, namely, whether learning news presented by people whose views are different from us or people who hold similar views. Were I forced to choose, I would prefer the former point of view to the latter one and I will elaborate on my reasons in the following essay.

The first reason worth mentioning is that one can hardly access to the comprehensive viewpoints about an issue without referring to people with dissenting perspective. As is known, every single event or piece of news is not as simple as we expect. Thus, it is an indisputable fact that nobody can have a panoramic view of the truth of the incidents due to the limited experience and knowledge span. In this case, gaining news from our opponents will definitely deliver a brand-new perspective and make us have a second thought of our own viewpoint. A famous example is that a bus plunges into the Yangtze River, killing all people on it. If people only check the heated cause online, which explains it was hit by a red car, they will only get a false one. Actually, video footage from the incident shows the bus moved slowly on the road before making a sudden left turn, which is caused by a fight from a passenger on the bus driver. On the contrary, just selectively listening to the similar ideas, people will become narrow-minded.

The second crucial reason why I hold this opinion is that reading or watching the news from different views can help us develop critical thinking skills and correct our mistakes. In fact, everyone does things by following a nearly fixed pattern that is generated from our life habits. There will be much strong resistance if we want to overcome this fixed pattern without recognizing flaws of it. People varying in past life experience, education background and economic conditions tend to have totally different opinions on certain issues. Having access to different ideas can broaden people's horizons and enrich one's experience. For instance, Jack Ma is the co-founder of tech conglomerate Alibaba Group. Having built his company from the ground up, he invested in a number of tech and e-commerce firms, with stakes in Lazada, YCloset, Tokopedia, Shiji, Intime Retail Group and Ordre. All these firms establishment are results of absorbing news from diverse channels and sources, some of which make him think twice before making decisions. However, if Jack Ma only reads news similar to his own, he would have not made such a huge success.

A voice arises that we can also learn from those similar views because it can help us strengthen the understanding of a certain area. This claim should be scrutinized meticulously. Learning from similar views has an obvious flaw, which will gradually fix our thinking model and make us hard to accept suggestions from others. As an old Chinese saying goes, there must have a teacher among people you are walking along with. Therefore, learning from different seems a better way to improve ourselves.

In conclusion, drawing reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly agree to read or watch news presented by people who have different views. While there are one thousand of Hamlets in one thousand of people’s eyes, I firmly believe my opponent will yield after being shown to my article.