As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1.take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors

2.volunteer to work in the city

Currently, the sizzling economy has lead to a bunch of benefits, one of which is the development of tertiary education. With the advancement of the education industry, a myriad of individuals contest that students ought to be required to make use of their long break between semesters. Some reckon that students are supposed to be mandated to participate in volunteer activities, however, personally speaking, I suggest that the involvement in a course that is not directly connected with their majors is a preferred option and my view can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, enrolling in a course which does no possess direct connection with students’ majors augment students’ opportunities of finding employment. Nowadays, living in a society full of fierce competition, there are not sufficient posts to meet fresh graduates. It is common to perceive that several students compete for the mere one position in a conglomerate. Therefore, in order to gain a competitive edge, extra efforts are the indispensable component of the rivalry of landing decent jobs. Under this circumstance, the knowledge beyond majors is likely to help us engage the employers’ interests. Apart from that, this experience also demonstrates that we are adept at quick learning and time management since extra time and energy commitment is unavoidable in enrolling in extra courses. Compared to students with extra knowledge, students without experience in other domain tend to seem lackluster or mediocre, hence, unless they are competent enough to win this position, they are likely to lose the opportunity.

What’s more, taking an extra course beyond the requirement of our majors enables us to enlarge our outlook. To be more specific, before we enter universities, we are always deemed as passive receptacles of predigested knowledge, hence we foster the behavior pattern that we lead parochial lives instead of seeking for more exhilarating experience. There is a propensity that we, based on the knowledge imparted by our professors, to work in occupations related with our majors until retirement. Nevertheless, learning knowledge not limited in one specialized domain is capable of expanding our horizons. With disparate knowledge we amass in these courses, we are stimulated to experience diversified probability in our lives, so as to maximize our potentials, instead of stifling our creativity to follow traditional paths. The research conducted by an institution in Harvard Law School to evaluate students’ accomplishments suggests that those students, who used to sign in irrelevant courses, are likely to achieve successes more easily, especially in newly emerging domains, like the telecommunication industry, the e-payment industry and so on. On the contrary, those students, who just finished their basic requirement in law department, end up becoming mediocre attorneys with negligible achievements. This research illuminates that extra curriculum render students not only the expansion of their outlooks but also the relatively high probability of achieving success.

Admittedly, the involvement of volunteer work also plays a pivotal role in students’ growth. Nevertheless, it fails to enhance students’ characters and temper. Since time is of great essence in the period of attending universities, students are supposed to devote their time and energy to learn more extra courses.

In a nutshell, from what has been mentioned above, it is an optimal option for universities to mandate their students to enroll in courses that are not directly intertwined with their majors. For one thing, these courses are conducive to the improved chances of landing jobs. For another, irrelevant knowledge accumulated in these courses enables students to enlarge their outlooks and constitutes a stepping stone in their pursuit of achieving success.