As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:1.take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors2.vol

Students have more and more chances to take participate in some volunteering programs during vacations. And it is doubtless that volunteering in a city is beneficial for students to get progress.

First of all, volunteering in a city could cultivate students senses of social responsibilities. Students could join in many kinds of programs that help people with their lives, which engenders students emotion of being a member of the society. For example, last summer vacation I attended a program to go to a kindergarten to take care of children. They are difficult to attend because they are so energetic and rigorous that they are keen to play with anything unique to them in their new world. During the program, I helped them to have lunch and told stories to them that gender them to fall a sleep. When I accompanied with those children, I obtained unprecedented happiness with people younger than me in that they are pretty austere and active that provides a myriad of fun to me. At the meantime, I saw the hope of our society on them and on myself simultaneously. Young people have a strong potential to change the situation and afford developments and progress to our world and I, as a undergraduate student, also have the responsibility to study and change the world. After finishing the program, I become more responsible for our society and arduously learn knowledge.

Moreover, taking participate in volunteer programs could also make numerous friends. We can enlarge our relationship through these volunteering programs. People from different countries who have distinct majors are gathering together to meet each other. So we have a fantastic opportunity to make new friends by these programs. Last winter vacation, my roommate John joined in an volunteering program to help animals in a zoo. He met enormous students from other abroad universities so he communicated with them, completed some researches together and had dinner altogether. Through this transient program, my roommate and other students have built strong friendships and they still contact each other currently. Hence, volunteering in a city could make you meet a large amount of friends and enlarge your social circle.

In conclusion, volunteering in a city during the university breaks not only helps students practice a sense of citizenship, but also supply a good chance to enrich their lives to make more friends.