If your friend wants to reduce living expenses, which would you suggest?

1. Find a roommate that can share the living expenses.

2. Buy the new technology products less frequently.

3. Shop for less expensive food and cooking at home

As prices and personal demands increase, students are always trying to find a way to save their money and cut their spending. I believe that looking for a roommate is the optimum decision any student can take and that is why I strongly recommend this to my friend. I have two reasons to support my idea.

First of all, sharing the house with someone else will help my friend save more money as the house rent would be divided between two people. Half the rent being saved each month is way better than trying to buy cheap food or gadgets as those stuff are not that expensive. Therefore, he might end up saving a few dollars which will not be of any help. Four years ago, I was living in a studio near my university with a rent which was ok for me, but as time passed my lecturers started demanding high-quality materials and tools. As a result, I found my self spending a lot of money and paying the rent late. I looked for a housemate who can pitch in and help me with rent. When she started living with me, I was able to pay my rent on time and even buy whatever I need. This would have not been possible if I did not find a roommate.

Secondly, having a roommate can stop my friend from feeling lonely as he lives away from his family. living alone could be bad for the mental health of students because after a long day they return to an empty home with no one who can help them overcome hardships they face at college. my friend can find someone to share his problems with or they can cook together. For instance, when I was staying with my roommate, it was very awkward at first, but we grew accustomed to each other. I would come back home and we would just sit in the living room sharing stories and giving advice to each other on how to deal with problems. one day, I had a problem with one of my projects and went home crying, but when she saw me in this state, she cooked for me. Instantly, I forgot all about the project and was happy to have her in my life.

In conclusion, I recommend my friend to find a housemate so that he can save money and make new friendships that might last forever.