Many filmmakers make movies based on books. When a movie is produced based on books, some people prefer to read books before watching films, other people choose to watch the movie first. Which one do you think is better? Why?

Many film directors and writers are resorting to the idea of making movies and dramas based on popular books that most of us know. They do it after witnessing the amazing success of the book and how it gained a great fan base. Some people watch the movie directly without reading the novel, but others like indulging in the book first and maybe later watch the movie version. I prefer reading the novel and then watch the film for two reasons.

First of all, reading novels before watching helps the brain to be imaginative and creative. Whenever people get the opportunity to read the book, they portray the scenes and the characters in a totally different way compared to the movie. That is what makes readers eager to read before watching because they want to have the pleasure of unleashing their imagination. For instance, recently while I was reading "The book thief" which talks about the life of a German girl in the Nazi time, I would imagine how her house looked like, and how she would laugh or cry. I can picture it the way I desire freely and with no limits unlike seeing it first which will give no room for my imagination, and I would be reading knowing what her home resembles and what her bed looks like.

Secondly, readers might not be interested in having the book after seeing it on TV. It is undoubtedly true that there is plenty of films that disappoint us not because the plot is bad but because the actors and directors were not able to pull it off well. As a result, we hate the movie and think that the book is the same while in reality, it is untrue. For example, I watched a film called "Murder on the Orient Express" before reading the book as I had no idea that the movie was a depiction of the story. I did not like the movie at all, and I felt that it was rushed and the protagonist was weird. Therefore, when my sister told me about the book, I did not feel intrigued to look at it at all. However, one day I happened to look at it at my friend's house, and I honestly fell in love with the story and everything about it.

In conclusion, I advocate with the notion of never watching a movie based on a book unless I have finished the book. I believe in that so I can give my mind space to fly in imaginations and be able to know the real story so that I do not get disappointed