Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Competition between friends usually has negative impacts on friendship.

Friends provide companionship and comfort when needed. A long lasting friendship gives us joy and happiness, making our lives more fulfilling. However, competition between friends’ have negative impacts on friendship. The reasons are as following.

To begin with, too much competition between friends may lead to friendship severed. As we all know, friends are supposed to provide companion when we are alone, to listen to our heart when we have something to share and to give us comfort when we have sad feelings. Friends’ role is to make us feel confident about ourselves. Whereas, too much competition makes us feel less confident about ourselves, because the achievement of a relatively more capable one’s in a certain area, such as a high standing in a particular subject they study, reminds another of his or her inadequacy in ability, which will certainly make the less capable one experience anxiety, sense of inferiority or even jealousy. Over time, the less capable one may want to distance him or herself from his or her friend. Once the deep bond between the two friends become weaker, the estrangement between them would probably bring to an end their precious friendship.

What’s more, competition between friends may lessen their sense of cooperation. It is commonly believed that friends need to support and motivate each other when there are difficulties. More importantly, when they want to achieve a shared goal, teamwork really matters. Only through the hardship they experienced and overcame together, can they gain a solid friendship which is so unbreakable that they will benefit from it for a lifelong time. However, if intense competition is exhibited between them in their daily lives, such as the competition in grades in school, personal income and social status, the awareness of cooperation may be crippled. They might be less willing to provide help to each other since one’s success means another’s failure. This is harmful not only to their friendship but also to their work efficiency since cooperation helps to save time and energy.

Admittedly, a moderate degree of competition between friends can serve a function of motivation for our lives. A capable and caring friend can be a perfect role model for us to make progress in what we do in order to keep up with him or her. Nevertheless, if one’s motivation has an origin in other people’s incentive, its effect couldn’t last as long. What’s more, a truly trustworthy and considerate friend would not put others under pressure with his or her superiority in some areas.

Overall, the negative impacts of competition between friends shouldn’t be overlooked respecting its threat to the close bond developed through friendship and the sense of cooperation.