Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Currently, with the rapid advancement of technology and economy, a myriad of families are capable of purchasing private computers, some of which even equip their children with their own electronic devices, such as laptops, I pad and so on. This phenomenon consequently evokes a stir about whether children should be permitted to play computers. Numerous individuals reckon that playing computer is a preferred alternative for children to relieve their pressure, both the pressure induced by excessive school assignments and peer pressure. However, I side with the opposite view and my standpoint can be substantiated by the following reasons.

To start with, playing computers exerts adverse effects on children’s physical health in different approaches. Initially, all electronic devices emit electromagnetic waves, which influence their growth of the brain and other segments of bodies. In addition, some youngsters, whose eyes are glued to the screen, are prone to have poor eyesight. Besides, considering the time that has been spent by them on sitting in front of computers, cervical diseases also likely happen. It is investigated that the ratio of individuals below 14 who are enslaved with vertebrate problems is continuously mushrooming and 78% testers harbor the idea that their cervical pains should be attributed to their indulgence in playing computers. Therefore, playing computers is likely to give rise to a bunch of physical diseases, which does harm to children’s growth.

What’s more, playing computers is also not conducive to develop children’s mental fitness. It is widely acknowledged that children cannot grow mentally healthy without appropriate guidance, nevertheless, in a virtual world established in computers, less guidance can be rendered to children without the mature capability to distinguish right from wrong. Additionally, the rating system has not been built in the online world, hence, some of them are susceptible to be misguided to behave in a socially unacceptable way. To be more specific, perceiving the pornographic or violent contents displayed in online websites or digital games, children are intended to imitate those behaviors, gradually they not only fail to obtain healthy mindsets but also pose threats to the well-being of human society.

Admittedly, playing computers does have some merits. For instance, after delving into the knowledge inculcated by their teachers on that day, playing computer games helps them get rid of the exhaustion generated in the process of plowing through tedious learning materials. Nevertheless, this merit can be easily replaced by other approaches, like doing some outdoor activities, which is literally beneficial for children’s growth.

In a nutshell, from what has been mentioned above, children should not be allowed to play computer games since it is not only harmful to their physical health but also bad for their mental fitness.