Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Competition between friends usually has negative impacts on friendship.

Currently, society has witnessed unprecedented competition between different individuals in a bunch of fields, not only at work but also on campus. Therefore, an embarrassing situation is provoked that sometimes the rivalry between friends cannot be avoided, which perplexes dozens of people, will the competition spoil their friendship or not? Personally speaking, I harbor the idea that competition between friends is of great detriment to their friendship and my views can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, competition makes those guys involved in this competition fail to have time and energy to maintain the relationship, thus the relationship eventually fade away. To be more specific, embarking on the preparation for a competition, all individuals are highly engrossed in it, hence, all time that is manageable will be allocated to make preparation for rivalry so as to get the upper hand. Since all participants are preoccupied with their excessive workload, no more time can be distributed to communicate with their friends. Meanwhile, under the pressure of competition, individuals are both mentally and physically exhausted, which enslaves them and makes them fail to have sufficient interaction with their friends. Here is a case in the point, once my friend, Rose, and I were preparing for our college entrance exam, at the aim of improving our academic performance, both of us had purchased countless reference books. It is widely acknowledged that practice makes perfect, this saying was also upheld by us, therefore, every second we saw each other, we were plowing through the tedious knowledge in mathematics, physics or chemistry. At that time, sometimes I wondered that were we still friends or mere competitors during the fierce competition fighting for admission of key universities. This example illuminates that under high pressure generated by fierce competition, friendship is likely to suffer, instead of being maintained.

What’s more, estrangement is more likely to be germinated during the rivalry. Competition, the definition of which, literally speaking, is to find out which one is the best among all participants. Therefore, the individual in the disadvantageous position is gradually enslaved by the sense of inferiority. However, every individual is born with the innate instinct of pursuing self-satisfaction, which makes them want to make acquaintance with others who are inferior to him or her. Under the circumstance, the old relationship, affected by the newly germinated friendship and estrangement, will finally give to a pause. The case of my friend and I can also be applied here. During the preparation stage for the exam, I performed better than Rose did, which discouraged Rose and made Rose unwilling to talk with me. Little by little, Rose and another classmate with poor performance became intimate friends. In addition, Rose told her new friend that being friend with me made her feel uncomfortable owing to both others comment in our academic performance and her feeling of inferiority. Undoubtedly, as individuals endowed with the instinct of seeking self-assertiveness, individuals usually fail to sustain the unequal relationship.

Admittedly, the competition between friends is not without perks. Some individuals, with strong will and persistence, are likely to make a concerted effort and encourage each other to make progress, therefore both of them can benefit from the competition, which renders them a terrific opportunity to prolong their friendship. Nevertheless, the benefits for friendship from the competition are conditional and it depends on individuals’ characteristics, therefore, to a large extent, the majority of individuals are susceptible to the competition between friends.

In a nutshell, the rivalry between friends exerts detrimental effects on their relationship and a large portion of these will end up spoiling their friendship because competition takes up all their time and energy and no interaction can be achieved under this situation which makes their relationship fade away. In addition, the estrangement sparked by the sense of inferiority is also harmful to maintain the friendship.