If you are going to travel to a city for the first time, but you have a limited amount of time, which of the following do you think would be the best way to know about the city in a short time?

-touring historical sites

-going to shops and markets

-eating in local restaurants or cafes

Nowadays, with the sizzling economy, more and more people are enabled to travel in order to unwind themselves and some people also view traveling as a fantastic way to deepen their understanding of another city. Whenever this topic is discussed, a general controversy arises. Some people contend that visiting shops and markets is beneficial to have a more comprehensive understanding of the city they travel to, and others hold a different viewpoint that eating in the local restaurants should be an optimal choice. However, as far as I am concerned, touring historical museums and sites should be seen as the superior option.

In the first place, visiting historical sites and museums enable us to have a more systematic view of the development of the city we tour. What is known to us all is that those sites are always equipped with some educational institutions, and by walking in those places, we are granted the chance to grasp a clearer view of the history of this city. For example, I once visited the national museum in Singapore. The curator enthusiastically talked about the history of Singapore with me. Before that, I didn't have any knowledge background of colorism and colonists in that place and have no idea of what inspired the leader to liberate the people living in Singapore, and how he enacted a series of policies to make Singapore great again. Thanks to this tour, I eventually gained a more comprehensive understanding of this country.

In addition, by touring the historical sites, we can readily get professional knowledge of the city. In the museum, there are a lot of display boards written by specialists. With some propaganda videos and high-tech interaction applications vividly demonstrating the historical stories that happened in past, juveniles and youngsters can readily acquire knowledge. In this way, we can efficiently broaden our horizons and enrich our knowledge. Moreover, there are also exhibitions with manifold themes, and everyday volunteers with expertise are willing to introduce the meanings contained within every exhibit. For example, last summer I went to Beijing, the capital city of China, and visited the Palace Museum, the biggest museum related to Qing Dynasty. Stepping into the museum, I saw valuable cultural heritage as well as some antiques. Listening to the presentation of the tour guides, I could easily learn the glorious history of the ancient techniques and be astonished by the wits of ancient laborers.

Admittedly, eating and shopping also help us get a glimpse of the life of residents and establish a basic comprehension of the culture. However, it is not advisable to spare no efforts on affairs that are time-consuming as well as inefficient. We have to visit different stores and diversified cafes to achieve our goals. In modern society, the masses all value time and money, so these deficiencies cannot be compensated with ease.

In a nutshell, I definitely render my support to touring various historical sites as the best way to know a country. Only through this way, can we have a systematic view and gain some professional knowledge.