If you are a leader for a group of three to four people, which of the following features are the most important when choosing group members?

-honesty

-the ability to get along well with others

-the ability to communicate clearly

People usually have different views on what is the most crucial for a team leader to choose their team members. In my opinion, I would place emphasis on their communication skills.

First of all, as a leader the most important for me is efficient, and having excellent communication skills can finish the schedule on time or faster. For example, my brother has unbelievable communication skills. To be more specific, he is a project manager, and he usually has to negotiate with his clients. That is, because of his outstanding communication skills, he makes every plan on time, and also his boss gets him promoted in a year. If my brother is honest, he would probably ruin a plan since he does not tell innocent lies.

Secondly, when I am a leader in a group, the most essential thing for selecting my members is having the best solution, and people with good communication abilities can do it. For instance, I am a university student, and usually have some team projects to do. That is, my team members always have extraordinary communication abilities, which can express their ideas and solutions clearly. However, if I select some people who get along well with others, they would tend to say nothing since they do not want to make others unhappy.

Last but not the least, I care about the outcome, and my team members with clear communication abilities can help them to deliver their descriptions and have a good outcome. Take my friend as an example, he is the leader of a student organization. He told me that the most things that he would select to become his members are required to have the best communication skill. To elaborate, his members have many speeches for arguing with their rights, and also presenting students’ thoughts. Therefore, having good communication skills usually provides him to get good results.

In conclusion, from what I have been mentioned above, I strongly propose that the most important thing to select members is having a good communication ability. After all, since I place emphasis on efficiency, solutions, and outcome.