Essay topics:

Sometimes people wish to be more confident, for example, they may want to express their opinions more frequently in meetings at work, or they may want to contribute more to class discussions at school. Which ONE of the following actions do you think would best help to increase confidence in these types of work or school situations? Why?

- Spending more time preparing for class discussions at school or meeting at work

- Learning about and practicing techniques to help you become more confident

- Finding a more experienced person who can give advice about how to handle these situations

Some people think that spending more time preparing for class discussions at school or meetings at work is the best method to increase confidence. Others claim that learning and practicing new techniques is preferable. Still, others maintain that finding a more experienced person who can give advice is the most ideal approach. As far as I am concerned, I would choose the second option. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, to maximize confidence at school, people must have enough knowledge and skills to discuss with their classmates, and learning new techniques can undoubtedly help people increase their knowledge and become more confident. For example, I needed to participate in algorithms group discussions frequently, but initially, I was not knowledgeable in algorithms. Hence, I learned and practiced several beginner-level competitive programming problems diligently. Several weeks later, I could understand 90% of the lecture in the class, so I had enough confidence to contribute algorithmic ideas through class discussions. On the other hand, I once asked my senior classmates how to deal with such a situation. Unfortunately, they did not know that I had problems understanding even the most basic algorithm concepts, so they recommended I enhance my speaking skills. After adopting their advice, I figured out that even though my speaking skills improved, I still had difficulties understanding propriety nouns used in the lecture.

In addition, to boost confidence, people must have the ability to adapt to different situations, and spending more time practicing techniques can help people accommodate unexpected situations. For instance, I often stuttered during work metting, so I decided to practice my improvisation skills. Several weeks later, when my boss suddenly wanted to change the meeting topics, I could still present my reports smoothly. Contrarily, I once tried to overcome my speaking anxiety by memorizing every single line of my speech before meetings. Unfortunately, after my supervisor decided to change the topic, the lines that I memorized became useless; I still need to improvise my words, and I still stuttered during the meeting. So apparently, spending more time preparing for meetings cannot help me deal with various kinds of unexpected circumstances.

In conclusion, I maintain that learning or practicing techniques are the most ideal way to enhance people's confidence due to the aforementioned reasons. After all, people must build knowledge and learn how to tackle unpredictable situations to become confident.