Sometimes people wish to be more confident—for example, they may want to express their opinions more frequently in meetings at work, or they want to contribute more to class discussions at school.

Which one do you think would best help to increase confidence in these types of work or school situations?

1) spending more time preparing for class discussions at school or meetings at work

2) learning about and practicing techniques to help you become more confident

3) finding a more experienced person who can give advice about how to handle these situations

Practice makes perfect, which means the more times we practice, the closest to success. Meanwhile, people can attain confidence when they are skillful. Some people may state that students should spend more time preparing for class discussions, meetings at work, or finding an experienced person to give them advice, while others may suggest that learning about and practicing techniques can help students become more confident. In my opinion, I strongly command students can attain more confidence through the several practices and study because they not only reduce the time to make mistakes but also achieve more experience independently.

First of all, learning about and practicing techniques can reduce the possibility of making mistakes at school. The more times the students try, the more confidence they have. For instance, when I was a high school student, I was concerned about drawing and designing skills in presentation materials. Therefore, I used my personal time to practice Illustrator and InDesign after school. During the technological lesson, I was the only person who can fluently use components and diagrams without any mistake because I was familiar with the user interface on the screen. Thus, I helped my classmates and figured out their problems to finish the assignment. As a result, I was really confident to attain the design exhibition of high school students at the end of the semester and won the final prize. That is to say, without my own practices, it is impossible for me to collaborate with other students and attain a higher level of my academic field.

Second, through the process of learning and practicing techniques, students can finish their works independently. After several practices, the students can be more confident because they faced many different situations through the process. For instance, according to the human behavior researches from Harvard University in 2020, students relied on teachers and parents to write the assignments, their confidence was only fifty presents compared with the students who used their own time on practicing and learning. Therefore, the skillful students always expressed their opinions in the classroom confidently and get a better chance to compete with others even the results may not always be correct. On the other hand, the students who lacked learning and practicing were too fast to felt depress and cannot finish the works on their own.

To conclude, the best way to help students increasing their confidence at school is to encourage them to learn and practice techniques. Through the process, they can learn not only the way to reduce the problems but also solve the problems. Therefore, they will be a confident person after fulfilling the techniques and practicing many times.