Do you agree or disagree with the following statement, the best way to reduce air pollution is for the government to raise the cost of fuel.

During the winter period, every person who living in Beijing city has to wear a thick mask when they want to hang out. Meanwhile, there are many cities which also have a severe problem in air pollution like Beijing in the world. Governments should take action as soon as possible. Some experts may suggest that government should raise the price of fuel to reduce the emission of pollutants in order to solve the air pollution problem. However, in my opinion, it will not work out because this solution intense people rely heavier on petrol and cause finical problems. (98)

First of all, people will not stop buying petrol even its price is higher than before. This is because people already rely on using fuel for decades. To illustrate, almost every family in the city has at least one car which is an essential tool for daily life. It provides a convenient way to go outside without takes transportation like buses or subway, especially in the pandemic world, people try to keep social distance every day. In this case, although the price of gas is increasing, drivers who have to drive cars have no other choice but continue buying expensive petrol. In the end, the demand for fuel would not decrease and the pollutants keep adding to the air.

Secondly, raising gas prices will obstruct economic development. Since people need fuel to drive their vehicle, the more expensive petrol will be a burden for them. As mentioned, the need for gas is not declining, people have to pay more for car driving, which is definitely harmful to their wallets. Before raising the price, people can use this money to buy additional goods, enjoy travel or pay for education, but after the higher prices of fuel, they have no extra money to do these all kinds of things. Thus, the policy will cause a huge loss in the economy.

In addition, the new inventions and technologies can reduce air pollution effectively. As modern science finds other methods to improve air pollution, the raising of fuel prices would not be the only choice. For instance, the Taiwan government already utilizes more than 20 billion dollars on wind energy, solar energy, and water energy for decades. The official budget spent on investing in clean energy would increase every year. Furthermore, the new type of electric motorcycle which name GOGORO from Taiwan, provides an eco-friendly way of transportation without release any carbon dioxide and other harmful compositions. After all, the air pollution produced by burning fuel can decrease extremely.

In conclusion, raising gas prices not only cannot solve the pollution problem but also damage citizens’ incomes. Keep in a positive mind and initiative actions on other methods, finding new clean energy to reduce air pollutants is a better way to apply a passive policy. Governments should not modulate a goods’ price without full consideration.