Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to solve the problem of the present and the future, it’s necessary to understand the past.

In the modern era, technology plays a prominent role in individuals’ lives. No century witnessed more progress in technology rather than the 20th century did. In this way, people encounter more problems in the present that they have not experienced before. A controversial question that arises is whether people should review the past for finding the solutions or we can make a better decision depend on the situation. In my opinion, to solve present and future problems, it is necessary to understand the past for the following reasons.

First of all, knowing about history reduces the possibility that people make the same mistakes again. Some mistakes may be unrecoverable in the past but could be avoided in the future. For example, the nuclear bomb “Little Boy” was detonated over Japan by the United States at the endpoint of the Second World War. The effects of the atomic bombings killed between four hundred thousand people in the country and large numbers of people who were civilians continued to die from the effects of burns and radiation. As a result, after the war, global countries constantly find a way to eliminate the use of nuclear weapons and prohibits assistance on nuclear development. That is to say, People learn a lesson and try to make it happen again in the future.

Second, to solve the problems we face in the present time, we can improve and advance the past results. That is to say, the scientists improve the researches from the last generation. For example, since the 20th century, several companies try to improve the vehicle which emits toxin pollution in the atmosphere. Thus, the first hybrid car was invented by the Toyota company in 2002, this event took a new generation of car production. In the next few years, Volvo, Benz, and the well-known brand, Tesla, all devoted themselves to the design of the electric car. Furthermore, the recycling ideas were also put on the car production. Therefore, all the parts of the vehicle are eco-friendly, this is because the experts always try to improve and enhance the normal tools that people used.

Finally, it is an indisputable fact that in the global world, everything will be changed admittedly. But we can learn from the past and try to find a better way to solve the problems. Some mistakes can be avoided while others might be improved. As a result, understanding the past fosters us to be strong and well prepared for the future.