The best way to reduce air pollution is for the government to raise the cost of fuel (petrol).

With winter approaching, every person living in Beijing city has to wear a thick mask when they want to hang out. As we all know, there are many cities around the world today which have a severe problem in air pollution like Beijing. Governments should take action without any waiting. Some experts suggest that government raise the price of fuel to reduce the emission of pollutants in order to solve the air pollution problem. According to my perspective, however, it will not work out.

First of all, people will not stop buying petrol even if its price is higher than before. Nowadays, almost every family in the city has at least one car. Cars become indispensable for human beings because life is truly conveniently with a car. In this case, although the price of gas is increasing, drivers who have to drive cars have no other choice but continue buying expensive petrol, so the demand for fuel would not decrease that much. That is to say, the pollutants are stilled discharged to air. Therefore, raising up fuel price helps little to improve air quality.

Secondly, raising gas price will obstruct economic development. Since people do need fuel to drive their vehicle, the more expensive petrol will be a burden for them. As mentioned, the need for gas is not declining, so people have to pay more for daily transportation, which is definitely harmful to their interests. Before raising the price, people can use this money to buy some goods, travel on vacation or pay for education, but now they have no extra money to do these all kinds of things. Thus, it will cause a huge loss in the economic.

In addition, there are many other ways to reduce air pollution effectively. For example, the government should invest money in discovering and researching clean energy which can be the substitute for fuel. People can use these energies, like wind energy, solar energy or water energy, to drive their cars. In this way, the mission of carbon dioxide and other harmful chemical compositions produced by burning petrol can decrease tremendously. On the other hand, air pollution can also be forestalled by protesting forest. Numerous trees are planted around Beijing as a protective screen to sands wind. In actual fact, it is useful. Therefore, air pollution problem can be solved gradually.

In conclusion, raising gas price not only cannot solve pollution problem but also damage citizens’ interests. Keep in mind that there are other methods, like finding clean energy, to reduce air pollutants. Governments should not modulate a goods’ price without full consideration.