Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to reduce air pollution is for the government to raise the cost of fuel?

Is it prudent to say that increasing cost of fuel will help in reducing air pollution ...? There are two different schools of thought. One school answers in the affirmative whereas, the other school disagrees. According to my point of view I disagree with statement saying that pollution will be decreased. This can be illustrated by using two different points firstly air pollution is not caused by only fuels and other one is how to reduce use of extra fuel so that it can reduce air pollution caused by same.

Air pollution can be caused by burning plastics as well as wildfires, volcano, factories based on coal and petroleum oil as fuel. First two options are way more harmful that last option. We can not control air pollution caused by natural disasters like wildfire and volcanoes . Some wildfires in history had wiped whole forests. But we can control other means of air pollution caused by man made activities for instance unnecessary use of vehicles. exploitation of natural resources from forests and mines.

Increasing the price of fuel might reduce the use of fuels but it has more drawbacks than benefits. We can not stop production of important things of daily life so it will result in increase the cost of products and this might lead to inflation. Common people can not bear these extra expense and this might also lead to fall of government. n India whenever incidences of fuel cost was increased by government at that time people went on strike to show their opposition. For any government its found to be shameful that people are not happy with them.

So other strategies like car pooling, strict vehicle pollution control rules, forestation in dormitory of factories, factory polluted air should be released after proper treatments. Another option is to discover alternatives to fuel that is biofuel. Plants like 'Jatrofa' and ethanol from bacteria are found to be useful up to lab scale. This has to be taken to field scale. All above thoughts differ in their line of reasoning and other strategies are cogent and relabel that increasing fuel prices.