The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given memo the mayor of Brindleburg recommendation to the city council for building a municipal golf course and resort hotel as opened by Seaside Vista Tourism Board. The Seaside Vista is getting benefit with their initiatives and they reported 20 percent visitors increased. The mayor is considering similar results in Brindleburg city after building golf course and resort hotel. I found the recommendation is buttressed be evidence which should be questioned in order to gauge the soundness of the argument.

Firstly, what is the reason behind in 20 percent increase in visitors at Seaside Vista? Is it because of attractive and beautiful architecture of the golf course and hotel or there is no place to go for lunch or dinner? If visitors are attracted because of architecture of building, then increase is only 20 percent in two years. Similar project could not be caricature without any solid evidences for success of the project. The percentage doesn't mention the actual number and it may be possible that the 20 percent is not much volume of visitors in number.

Secondly, there is steep rise in loan applications for business in local banks, it is also not convincing. The investors want to establish similar business in same town is not clearly mentioned in the given argument. Another point is the loan applications received this year and the Seaside Vista opened new plan two years ago. So, the author did not specify any solid reason behind loan applications. It may be possible the tax money increased that's the reason to take loan. On the other hand, it has not been mentioned that whether citizens in Brindleburg are business minded people or not.

Thirdly, the author also claims that tax revenues have been increased in Seaside Vista. It can be as a result of changing tax brackets by the government, due to which total tax revenue has been increased. We do not have reason to claim it that increased in tax revenues is due to which opening of resort and golf club. One of the important points which contradicts author’s claim is that he has not mentioned anywhere any similarity between two towns, climates, whether conditions, and geography. May be the climate in Brindleburg is too cold or too hot, due to which visitors rarely visit it. It is neither mentioned whether both towns are located which is feasible for visitors.

Conclusively, on the basis of insufficient information we cannot claim that building golf club and resorts will generate additional revenues to use them as a fund for public improvements, the author is required to provide more detailed information.