In many countries today insufficient respect is shown to elder people. What do you think may be the reasons for this? What problems might this cause in society?

Nowadays, people aren't grateful to their parents in most countries. This situation arises from several factors, including generation gap, nuclear family structure, different job locations, etc. Unfortunately, this can lead to several issues related to the health and well-being of elder people.

Do you know which is the main reason for the disrespect? It's a generation gap. As most of the children in the present scenario, don't easily get along with their parents due to parents' parochial mentality. Secondly, the new generation wants freedom and no interference from old people. Thirdly, the families have become nuclear compared to joint families in earlier days. People have to travel to search for a job and eventually, they move to a different city than their parents, which causes a lack of interaction between them. This situation leads to less appreciation. Finally, social media has linked people with their same age individuals . So they no longer need support or knowledge from the elder people . Every tiny bit of information is readily available on the internet. Therefore, people don't acknowledge the knowledge , which is gathered by elder people through experience.

Unfortunately, the situation creates severe problems. Owing to people leaving homes, the parents feel lonely. The elder people don't have anybody to take care of their health and well-being. This is the reason why societies are glutted with old age homes. Additionally, the people living in such homes not only suffer from loneliness but also depression. In addition to this, the upcoming generation will be deprived of knowledge and skills possessed only by people in their declining years. For example, numerous home remedies are known only by the aged individuals. if people don't respect them, they will never be able to acquire such esoteric skills.

In conclusion, neglecting the old people can be deleterious not only for them but also for the younger generation. To prevent this, attempts should be made to avoid such conditions from arising. If we are able to stop such situations, it will definitely lead to a healthy social life.