Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the education institutes should prevent children form pursuing the fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Indisputably, institutions are having vast experience in educating the students. Nevertheless, every child is discrete in its own way. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that institution should dissuade the students and would argue that students should have liberty to pursue their interests.

First of all, as earlier mentioned, each child is unique and have distinct interests and discrete minds. I would like to point out that the field in which he can or can't succeed is incumbent on himself/herself. The institutions can't decide that on behalf of the students. To illustrate, let us look at the example of Thomas Edison. The education society suggested Thomas Edison that he was a failure and was a fool. But her mother was adamant and she herself taught him. Educational Institutes had already degraded his capabilities but today his contribution in modern discoveries is well-known. Not only Edison, but most of the eminent singers, writers, entrepreneurs, scientists were college drop outs. For an instance, Mark Zuckerberg, Einstein, Jeff Bezos etc. Obviously they were castigated for their different behaviors, but they believed in themselves and so today they are pioneer in their fields.

Furthermore, if you see the institutes have parochial mentality and they see things uni directionally. They don't exhort students to take venturesome and intrepid decisions. They are driven by the average tendency of the success ratios. Rather they don't have any credence that the people taking iconoclastic path can also become successful . They are disinclined to take risks. So they even suggest the students to do so. Like a movie named "Taare Zameen Par", the protagonist named Ishan was virtuoso in drawing but lacking in studies, so the institutions suggested that he won't be able to cope up with other students but in the climax he wins a national level competition and exemplifies that people can become successful by taking unique careers as well assuming they have and passion and eye for the particular field.

Admittedly, the institutions have profound knowledge of market scenarios and by years of experience they are able to judge the students. This is true especially when it comes to job security and job guarantee .In addition, they can bring out the best from the students by their experience. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that they should stymie students from pursuing their passion. Because if someone has passion in particular field, they will surely succeed.

In conclusion, although institutions gave safer options for careers, they are not considering individual interests. As long as guidance is needed , they can provide the guidance but they shouldn't force the students to choose a career. By this well , the students will not only excel but become masters in their esteemed fields.