The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument claims that the birth order affects individual's levels of stimulation. Stated in this way, manipulates facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation.The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. hence, the argument is weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the level of stimulation is solely incumbent upon the hormone cortisol. This statement is a stretch as there might be some other hormones that also affect the stimulation. For example, for the disease does not occur only due to coming in contact with the virus or bacteria but there are other factors also which decide whether the person will fall ill or not like individual's immunity, the propitious conditions for the bacteria to grow etc. So you have seen that in the same home one person might get seriously ill due to climate change and other one is immune. In the given argument , only increasing the level of cortisol is considered. In the case of infant monkey, first time mother monkeys as well as the humans. Argument could have been much more lucid if explicitly stated that the stimulation is only incumbent upon cortisol and no other factor affects the stimulation.

Second, the arguments claims that the study was carried out on eighteen rhesus monkeys. Only 18 monkeys is not the sufficient sample size to generalize the phenomenon for a larger population. The rhesus types of monkeys can be distinct than other monkeys. Furthermore, the fact which is true for one species might or might not be true for other species, So the argument is spurious that each implies to all the monkeys. To illustrate this, what might be true for pug cannot be necessarily true for German Shepherd. While pug do have small lives , we can't assume that german Shepherd have small lives too. in fact, german shepherd have longer lives than pugs. If the argument had provided the clearer evidence regarding why the eighteen monkeys studied are sufficient to draw out a conclusion , then the argument would have been lot more convincing.

Finally, the external factors like weather conditions and geographic locations also affect the stimulation level of the monkeys. And it is not evident from the argument. Whether all the studied animals were at same location or at different location, it is doubtful. Whether all were studied under the same laboratory condition, it is also dubious. Without convincing answers to these questions,one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the abovementioned reasons and thus unconvincing. It could be cogent if auhor clearly mentioned all the relevant facts.Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.