In many countries today insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think may be the reasons for this? What problems might this cause in society?

In some parts of the world, people tend to pay less respect towards the elderly. In my opinion, while unemployment and the shortage of money are the main cause of this tendency, this, accordingly, poses several problems to society.

In terms of being unemployed, the main reason that elderly people receive less respect from others is that when they get older, they tend to stay retired and no longer work for any company or organization. Due to the state of not playing a certain role in the community, this makes others pay less attention to elderly people. Furthermore, unemployment or retirement also leads to reduced income on a daily basis. It means that when people get older, they may not be physically and mentally healthy and also are incapable of earning as much money as they are younger. Thus, others tend to underestimate the ability and capability of the elderly.

Apart from the reasons expressed above, I believe that this tendency would take its toll on society to some extent. First, the deficiency of respect towards the elderly means that others could not receive valuable lessons, which are derived from those who are with many years of experience and expertise. Specifically, in today world, learning from pioneers is of fundamental importance for the young generation to become academically successful and prevent mistakes from happening in the first place. However, if the youth do not show respectful behaviors to the elderly, their performance and outcome at work will be adversely affected. Second, a nation, where a sense of respect is not socially acceptable is likely to face social ostracism and discrimination from other countries and thus, this would reflect its bad educational quality.

In conclusion, the trend of showing less respect towards the elder is increasingly evident in some countries, and this is mostly due to the state of being unemployed and the reduced income. Most importantly, several problems have been proved to have a bad influence on the community in general.