Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think it has more advantages or disadvantages?

It is believed that it is more favorable for students to take a gap year rather than embarking on universities or colleges. This essay will argue that the drawbacks of this overshadow the advantages. The essay will first demonstrate that the delay in studying can bring about some advantages, followed by an analysis of how the vacation being able to negatively pause their study.

On the one hand, the main advantage of taking a break before attending straight universities or colleges is that this benefits students to release stresses from their hectic schedule after graduating from high school. For instance, recent research showed that students are more likely to develop a sense of satisfaction when taking pleasure in exploring domestic tourist sites in their vacation. Furthermore, an attempt, working temporarily in different positions, is also a common opinion among students who are yet to study further. This would benefit them to hone practical skills and experiences, which are important to their future career.

On the other hand, I believe that the decision of taking a break or working temporarily after graduating from high school would pose a negative impact on students’ lives. This causes students to experience a sense of confusion, anxiety, and panic when they begin approaching university due to the lack of foundational knowledge, which has been gained before. This is illustrated by the fact that the majority of Vietnamese students tend to spend more time re-learning different mathematical concepts before studying the core lessons in universities. This tendency is similar to trying to work in a short period as students would gradually lose their enthusiasm and motivation, which are contributing factors to get an outstanding in-class performance.

In conclusion, although it is preferable for numerous students to take a break before studying further, I believe that the consequences would be detrimental, affecting their study.