Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Manufacturers and supermarkets should cut the usage of packaging in daily shopping. Apart from this, customers should take this responsibility by avoiding using packaging. While retailers could have a positive impact on this matter to some extent, the role of customers is more significant.

The main reason that manufacturers and supermarkets should get involved in reducing the usage of packaging because they are responsible for producing such packaging as plastic bags and plastic bottles, which are convenient and comfortable for take-away products. If these retailers no longer produce packaging, customers’ demand will accordingly be minimized. Besides, packaging could pose environmental problems such as pollution because it is often a daunting task to recycle them. For example, plastic bags are non-biodegradable materials, which can be reused over and over, however, because of its durability, they could last for centuries until completely decomposed.

Alongside the influence of manufacturers and supermarkets, customers also play an integral role in the reduction of packaging. The more people continue to purchase products, the more packaging is produced. This does not mean that they need to stop buying products but try to become less dependant on the packaging. If customers decide to cut the consumption of packaging, retailers would find no purpose to produce them. For example, since Vietnamese citizens have been aware of environmental issues, the usage of plastic bags is significantly minimized and instead, they tend to use their lunch box or fabric packaging, which is more eco-friendly.

In conclusion, although the responsibility of cutting the usage of packaging belongs to many manufacturers and supermarkets to some extent, it completely depends on the demand of customers to solve this problem.