Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

It is true that tons of plastic packaging is used annually all over the world because of its benefits. While many people argue that it is necessary for manufactures and supermarkets to diminish the amount of packaging of goods since they are dominant factors of contributing numerous plastic wastes; however, I would believe that customers should be responsible for reducing plastic packaging to protect our future.

On the one hand, in this area, manufactures and supermarkets are the biggest commercial companies wasting lots of plastic packaging. To use a common of this practice, according to Dantri Newspaper, there are more than 80 million plastic bags used daily without any consideration by companies in Amata industrial zone. Moreover, plastic bags could be got stuck in soil or land which prevents rainy water flow, causing flood. Flooding has been taken place extensively in the northern half of Vietnam’s narrow central part, demolishing inhabitants’ accommodations, villages and farms. And such natural disaster may be long-lasting unless people stop using plastic bags. Additionally, people often believe that simple and reused packaging not only could enhance company’s reputation, but also attract those who pay highly attention to environment issues.

On the other hand, some people assume that individuals also have responsibility for reducing plastic waste by avoiding buying goods with lots of packaging. The main reason is that protecting environment is the principal mission to all citizens worldwide. More and more people living in urban area take tote bags, which are made from recycled materials, along with them whenever they are able to buy something from shops or supermarkets. As the result, a huge number of plastic bags decrease monthly, helping people save their money and protecting environment as well. Personally, I definitely agree with the concentration on individuals’ responsibility for saving our environment, but I feel that it may be necessary for companies and manufactures to cut down packaging of goods to prevent many kinds of pollution.

In conclusion, while many people might vary in their opinions, I believe that people globally should consider protecting environment is one of our primary aims by reducing plastic bags and using some recycled things such as metal straws, clothing cup holder or reused tote bags.