Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Presently, in the era of cut throat competition, manufacturers present their products in excess packaging and supermarkets exhibit them to lure customers. However, excessive packaging is detrimental to the environment must be reduced. Whether the onus is on the supermarkets and manufacturers or should the customers say no to products with excess packaging has become a hot topic of the day. But, indeed, joint efforts at all level are needed to solve this problem.

To begin with, the major reason of such trend is the stereotype prevailing in public’s mind that relates product quality with packing. Since many people today equate quality with superior packaging, thus companies do not often take the risk of reducing it for fear of losing their market share. However, branded companies that are already established in the market can experiment with simple covering, without the fear of losing the popularity of their products. It would be a win-win situation for both – the manufacturer and the customer. For example, multinational companies like ‘Colgate’ can successfully give up expensive packaging of their toothpastes with no loss of sales.

Similarly, customers also have a role to play, by showing greater interest towards items in simple packing. To explain, excessive packaging only adds to the trash generated in the homes. By giving preference to materials with little or no packaging would motivate producers to pack products using the minimum packing and that too of biodegradable materials.

On the other hand, sometimes, the amount of packaging indicates the need to ensure the durability, safety and freshness of products. In other words packing prevents the fragile items from any possible damage. For instance, most instant foods are packed in several layers using expensive materials like aluminum foil and superior plastic, with the purpose of longer shelf life. In such cases, the packaging can be allowed.

In the light of all facts one can conclude that, most of packing is useless and just burden on customer’s pocket and detrimental for environment as well. Hence, manufacturers, supermarkets and customers have a collective role in reducing the amount of packaging of products.