While it is sometimes thought that prison is the best place for criminals, others believe that there are better ways to deal with them. What is your opinion?

Some people say that offenders should be given a custodial sentence because it is the most suitable punishment for them. In my opinion, while imprisonment, perhaps, is an ideal way to prevent criminals from committing illegal activities again, other solutions such as education and community laboring could produce a more significant outcome.

In terms of imprisonment, the main reason for applying this type of punishment to criminals is that governments want them to contrite their actions and behaviors in a separated place. These behaviors including recklessness, desire, or even being susceptible to many temptations need a particular amount of time to eliminate from their thoughts. Depending on the consequence of crimes that offenders will be put in jail for a specific period. For example, in the case of drug trafficking, they tend to stay in prison for about 20 to 30 years, which are virtually threefold that of pickpockets and shoplifting.

Apart from the influence of imprisonment expressed above, two alternatives including education and community laboring have a more significant effect in the long-run. First, education provides thorough insights into the negative impact of illegal activities, which accordingly helps criminals to be more open-minded and develops better attitudes and behaviors. Second, community laboring is also a good option because several activities such as planting trees, building houses, and cleaning up local parks could help them not only forget about regretful moments in the past but also become a more law-abiding citizen in the future.

In conclusion, although some people think that putting in jail is the best option to punish criminals nowadays, I, however, believe that providing proper education and social jobs is more positive and has better outcomes to society.