Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, longevity among people has been recorded as higher than ever. Thus, it is suggested that companies and organizations should raise the age that people are allowed to retire. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this for two main reasons. First, this trend would have an adverse effect on people's performance at work and second, it is detrimental to the young workforce.

In terms of the performance of people at the workplace, when people get older, their health may not as good as they are young. This results in the weakening of the physical and mental conditions among people because they are prone to various potential health issues such as dementia and tiredness. In fact, many companies and organizations nowadays encourage people to take extra shifts in the purpose of boosting products produced. However, if people are not doing well due to the lack of health, they will not be able to make any significant contribution.

Apart from the reason expressed above, the tendency of increasing the age that people retire from work also poses a problem to the young workforce. This is the case because the more the elderly keep working in their companies, the more challenging that young people find when searching for a job position. Therefore, the increasing rate of unemployment among them could be easily witnessed. For example, although the retirement age of Vietnamese workers is 60-year-old, it still makes it virtually impossible for graduates to apply to their wanted companies due to the abundant number of workers.

In conclusion, it is true that the average age of people in recent years has significantly been high. However, I believe that there are two main problems derived from it, including the low-quality performance at work and the shortage of job positions among the young workforce.