Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that it is more favorable for students to take a gap year rather than embarking on universities or colleges. This essay will argue that the drawbacks of this overshadow the advantages. The essay will first demonstrate that the earlier someone attends to colleges the more likely they are well-prepared for it, followed by an analysis of how the vacation being able to pause their study.

On the one hand, the decision of taking a break or working temporarily after graduating from high school would pose a negative impact on students’ lives. This causes students to experience a sense of confusion, anxiety, and panic when they start approaching the university’s environment due to the lack of foundational knowledge, which has been gained before. This is illustrated by the fact that the majority of Vietnamese students tend to spend more time re-learning different mathematical concepts before studying the core lessons. This tendency is similar to trying to work in a short period as students would gradually lose their enthusiasm and motivation, which are contributing factors to get an outstanding in-class performance.

On the one hand, the main advantage of attending directly to universities or colleges is that this benefits students to retain their memories related to subjects that they have already learned in high school. This means that it is not necessary to start from the beginning when students first approach to academic subjects in higher education. For instance, recent research showed that 80% of students graduating from their high school wants to keep studying because they are afraid of forgetting essential information in several subjects such as mathematics or physics. As a result, students would be able to not only catch up on their study with other peers but also devote more time to other activities.

In conclusion, although it is preferable for numerous students to take a break before studying further, I believe that the consequences would be harmful, affecting their study.