Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reports of media are increasingly showing daily problems and emergencies rather than the positive ones. Some people say that this development could have an adverse effect on individuals and society. However, I completely disagree with this and believe that its benefits are more significant.

As social media has been developed, people have more access to daily news and information, especially ones related to crime or emergencies, and this could raise people’s awareness. By watching criminal reports, people could be more conscious of different types of crime that they might encounter in certain circumstances. For example, pickpockets are often common in crowded areas such as supermarkets and street markets, and it is of vital importance to watch out accessories or wallets when people are shopping. Therefore, reports related in minor crimes just like that help people become well-prepared and reduce the risk of dangers.

Apart from the benefit expressed above, a focus on bad news and emergencies also benefits the whole society. First, reports of fatal accidents perhaps would make people terrified but at the same time, they may realize the bad consequence of fast driving. As a result, that type of report facilitates road safety as people gradually obey the driving rules. Second, problems and emergencies posted by reporters also help governments recognize its harmful impacts and thus implement proper solutions to prevent them from happening in the first place. Therefore, people would enjoy a safe environment to live and they are spared criminal commitment and other kinds of problem.

In conclusion, the benefits of showing bad news and emergencies have been proved to have several impacts on people's lives and society. In the long run, this development could contribute to better awareness among people and a safer environment for people to live.