Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is observed the news media are putting a stronger effort to report on social issues and disasters but little about happy stories of the community. It is considered by some people this would be detrimental to the general public and society as a whole. In my opinion, reporting on the truth even though it is a sad event will bring good benefits to society in the long run.

On the one hand, it is the press media’s code of ethics to report on facts. When a reporter identifies a social issue and writes related news articles, it would draw public attention on the matter. It facilitates the related subject matter experts, associations, organizations as well as stakeholders of the community to become aware of the case, provide feedback and express their concerns. Through their dynamic exchange of ideas and continually reported on the news, all related parties have a channel for their voices to be heard. Ultimately, potential solutions to the issue could be identified more efficiently.

On the other hand, in case of an unfortunate event, when mass attention is being concentrated on the incident, the responsible government bodies would have a large pressure to conduct an in-depth investigation seriously with a goal to figure out the root causes of the problem. Based on the findings, professionals with related experience would then be called upon to provide constructive feedback and suggest any remedial actions necessary in order to avoid re-occurrence of a similar tragedy in the future. As a result, public safety would be improved in a positive way.

To conclude, even though happy stories would probably make the audience feel good, I believe the media is obliged to put any matters of social concerns under the spotlight for the public if we hope to build a better community.