Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development.

Because of the rapid developments of technology in the entertainment field, indoor games have replaced outdoor games among the current generation. In my point of view, this is a negative trend that affects both the physical and mental health of children.

To begin with, the convenient and attractive of video games compared to sports games are the explanation that has eliminated public playgrounds from cities and towns. The aim of building shopping centers and housing complexes in the cities has left little room for kids to enjoy outdoor games like football or basketball. In contrast, since owning a laptop, a smartphone or a tablet are inexpensive, parents tend to leave their kids hooked to the machine so that they will not be disturbed. Secondly, video games append to young children because it is easier for them to become immersed in fantasy. The attraction to playing video games and what makes them fun is that it gives a child the chance to think about a role he would ideally like to take and then get an opportunity to play that role.

Nevertheless, spending time playing computer games for a longer time is absolutely deleterious. If gamers are becoming too addicted and sacrifice sports time for playing games, gaming can be very harmful to their health. The rise in obesity in recent years has been closely correlated with the sedentary lifestyle caused by excessive gaming and lack of exercise. Additionally, for one particular case relating to video games, when they do not have enough money to purchase for new games as they have not earned money yet, stealing from people, especially in their family, is the easiest way for them to serve their purpose. Moreover, a teen's obsession with a violent video game can turn into murder. The teen was so obsessed over a video game that he may have believed that, like the characters in the game, death wasn't real. This could lead to a significant increase in juvenile crime rates.

In conclusion, the increase in gaming and the decline in exercising stem from the development of the game industry and the lack of sports playgrounds. However, playing it too much can bring negative effects on both physical and mental health and it also quite high-priced.