Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports choice is often a debated topic which divides into two arguments whether participating in team sports or individual sports is more beneficial. Personally, I do believe both kinds of sport are reasonable as each has its own merits.

On the one hand, there are numerous advantages when people take part in team sports. For example, team sports such as football or basketball are a way to explore and develop lifelong skills. Playing team sports allows players to become part of social interactions, work together to achieve goals, and build skills such as teamwork and leadership. Furthermore, being a member of a team is an incredible way to connect with teammates and coaches alike. Contributing to a team, regardless of whether it is a leadership position, will ultimately contribute to boosting one’s self-esteem and confidence. In addition, it is clear that the hard work and determination that goes into learning and playing a team sport teaches players the value of crucial concepts such as cooperation and socialization.

On the other hand, playing sports individually is also advantageous to some extent. Apart from encouraging the development of fine and gross motor skills as all sports do, individual sports force players to gain independent thinking. For example, if they lose a match, single-sport athletes can not blame anyone else for their failure. This teaches them to be responsible for their own action and decisions. Moreover, individual sport teaches participants how to motivate themselves. There is no team pressuring them to improve, the drive has to come from within. This kind of intrinsic motivation is oftentimes much more powerful than external motivation. Besides, being comfortable performing solo in front of a crowd can come in hand for school and work presentation later in life.

In conclusion, I still think that both team sports and solo sports show their own distinct advantages. It depends on personal preferences and physical or mental conditions that each person chooses which one is suitable for them.