BUYING THINGS ON THE INTERNET, SUCH AS BOOKS, AIR TICKETS AND GROCERIES, IS BECOMING MORE AND MORE POPULAR.DO THE ADVANTAGES OF SHOPPING IN THIS WAY OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?GIVE REASONS FOR YOUR ANSWER AND INCLUDE ANY RELEVANT EXAMPLES FROM YOUR OWN KN

The introduction of shopping websites on the internet has gained much importance and proliferated quickly and successfully in many countries. Online shopping has become a trend with majority of people using it to buy books, household items and clothing. The main advantage of online shopping is the ease of access to a variety of options, whereas the disadvantage is the time taken to deliver the product. In my opinion there are more advantages of online shopping than the disadvantages and this essay will shed some light on both the aspects.

To begin with, online shopping provides the users an array of products to choose from with a possibility to compare the prices on other websites in order to get the best deal. This facilitates in avoiding the pain taken to visit multiple shops to buy the required item. For example, a recent study confirms that people prefer to buy electronics online rather than going physically at the outlet, also the sales have been deteriorating in stores since the advent of online shopping. It is inadvertently true, that online shopping has captured the majority share and the shop owners have opened up their own online store to remain in business.

However, the main disadvantage of this technology is the time taken to deliver the product. It usually takes a week for the shipment to arrive at your doorstep. This method of shopping cannot be utilized for urgent requirements. To exemplify, things required for immediate consumption like medicines cannot be booked online, as some medicines might also require doctor’s prescription. Furthermore, it becomes a hassle and disappointment if a defected product has been received; the whole process is required to be repeated.

To conclude, I pen down saying that online shopping is a great way to explore and buy from a variety of products available and although, it has one or two disadvantages, but the benefits of online shopping far outweigh the disadvantages of it.