More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

People nowadays tend to have children when they get older compared to their counterparts, who decided to have children as soon as they get married. While this tendency can be beneficial in several aspects, I believe that drawbacks overshadow its advantages.

The main benefit among couples, having children in their later age is that they could have good preparation, especially when it comes to their financial condition. This kind of preparation is fundamentally important to ensure the whole development of a child in the future. For example, they could save their money to buy new toys, clothes, and other essential types of products, which are served to meet the basic needs of a child. Consequently, children could experience a decent life and be mentally healthy.

However, alongside the influence of this benefit, I believe that the disadvantages are more noticeable. If people get older, their health conditions will not function well enough, which increases susceptibility to various types of disease. This is a major problem, potentially affecting the health of a child after giving birth because they may not grow physically healthy. For instance, research, which has recently been conducted in the US, reveals that new-born babies, who parent in the age-group of 40 to 50 years old, commonly have lighter weight compared to those who parent from 25 to 35 years old.

In conclusion, while such preparation as financial stability is crucial for most parents when giving birth and taking care of a child, which is easily achieved when they get older. However, I believe that the mentioned disadvantage above could be more detrimental.