More and more business and individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

The tendency of utilizing E-communication is increasingly prevalent among individuals and many organizations due to the advanced technology. In my opinion, while the availability of technology is beneficial to distance communication, the reduced real interaction, however, contributes to its drawback.

It is true that advanced technology nowadays facilitates people by the convenience of distance communication. People, who live far from their friends and relatives, could take advantage of online applications such as Skype or Viber to strike up a conversation with them as long as the Internet is stabilized. In terms of businesses, online communication also benefits cooperation between working members. Regardless of geographical barriers, colleagues and managers could operate a private meeting at home instead of driving directly to the conference room, which often takes a lot of time and effort.

Apart from the benefits of E-communication expressed above, the drawback can even be damaging because of the reduced real interaction among humans. Individuals, who spend a relatively large amount of time on online chat rooms, are more likely to forgo constant stimulation, which could be gained by actively talking to their friends in reality. This existence has the result of isolating and discouraging real interaction in people’s lives. For example, youngsters choose to make friends online rather than mixing with their peers in the real world, and these virtual relationships are substituted for real friendships.

In conclusion, technology has revolutionized communication between people and businesses. Although it is beneficial towards people living in remote locations as well as businesses, the reduce human interaction in the real world would have an adverse effect on people.