Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause social problems as well as practical problems. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that people are likely to face practical and social issues when they are living overseas and using a foreign language. I completely agree with this and also believe that the language barrier is the predominant cause of these problems.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that being unable to achieve language proficiency is the main reason, causing people to face practical problems, especially when they are living abroad. This means that if people are incapable of speaking such language as English, they will find it extremely difficult from starting a conversation to effectively communicate to socialize themselves with others. For instance, when employees including one, who could not speak English fluently or naturally, have a group discussion in their workplace, that one would not successfully speak his or her own voice or make a contribution. Consequently, this would adversely affect not only the performance of oneself but also that of a company as a whole.

Alongside with the consequence of practical problems, the language barrier is also a contributing factor in social ones. Particularly, when living in a foreign country and not speaking the mother tongue, people would be susceptible to many temptations caused by reckless individuals. This is illustrated by the fact that 80% of immigrants, transferring to the US and live, are victims in such criminal activities as harassment and robbery. Therefore, this would not only pose a threat, negatively affecting people’s mental conditions but also increase the rate of criminal commitment.

In conclusion, it is inevitable that people living overseas could confront with both practical and social issues due to the shortage of the ability to speak a foreign language, which causes a range of consequences such as the mentioned above.