Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Imagine a horrible military dictatorship in which the ruling people have great achievements. Maybe those achievements serve to preserve the status quo. Who knows? it is a military regime so there is no free press and no liberty to think or act according to one’s beliefs. It is pretty clear that a country will be seen as a great nation not by looking at the achievements of its rulers and preeminent persons. Instead it will be by the general welfare of its people and I feel that way mainly for the reasons that will be explored in the following essay. First, the power concentration in the hand of few might bias what those people can actually achieve. Second, by a more epistemological point of view, a nation is considered to be a group of people with the same traditions. Finally, who can determine if someone’s achievements are great enough?

To begin, in autocratic regimes almost all the power and resources are concentered, so there is no equality of opportunities. Besides that, countries like Saudi Arabia or the United Arab Emirates may be rich, but the income concentration is so extreme that those countries figure among the lowest countries on the Gini index ranks. That scenario has a direct impact on what the richest people can do. It can even be only a matter of propaganda to sustain their power! That is not what our occidental and democratic societies desire and hope for when asked about what makes a great nation.

Further, considering what nation means, it should be even more clear that a country cannot be great if its people welfare is not high enough. that is, what is a nation if not the sum of its territory and its residents? How can a nation be seen as a good nation if its people live in misery conditions? A country cannot be great if there is poverty, lack of access to health services or even poor education! What should matter more when judging if a nation is great if not the living condition of its people?

Moreover, how can we delegate the ability to claim that someone has done great things in life? is that judgment free of any bias? Of course not! As human beings we are not impartial. it is impossible to fully separate our opinion from our personal baggage. Our life experiences matter, so no one should judge the other’s achievements. In other words, how can we determine if a nation is great or not only relying on someone else thoughs? That will be surely biased!

I can concede that I might seem logical at first glance to claim whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its distinguished leaders. Specially if the nation model that we have in mind is a capitalist democracy. However, it is important to acknowledge that there is other type of nation in the world, and that a simple view as that may impose severe consequences for those nations’ future. Therefore, to consider a nation as a great nation, the best indicator should be the welfare of its people.