Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

should humanity me moved only by money? The statement claims that educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers. however, I strongly disagree with that mainly for the reasons that will be explored in the following essay. First, we live in a dynamic world, so how can someone today tell what will be a lucrative career in the future? Second, there life is not only about money. Finally, do educational institutions have the right to make this judgment and determine our future?

The labor market is every time a more rapidly adapting environment and it has already been shown that it can change very quickly. Therefore, the probability to choose a career path today believing that it will provide high wages does not guarantee that. To illustrate that point, consider the example of nuclear engineering back in the sixties. At that time, the profession was skyrocketing, and everyone could bet that it was the profession of the future. If educational institutions had directed their students to that path, today there would be so many unemployed nuclear engineers! consequently, the assessment of the likelihood of success may be strongly biased.

Further, besides the important fact that we live in capitalists’ societies and money does matter, life cannot be only about it. In fact, there is no evidence on the causality relation between money and what should be our ultimate goal: happiness. For instance, the suicide rate among very rich artists is very high so we can argument that money could even be harmful. The above example illustrates that, money by itself cannot bring joy and other important aspects for human life.

Moreover, there is an ethical point that has to be addressed: are schools and universities allowed to interfere in the student’s decisions in that way? how students might react to that? Particularly, the way in which educational institutions apply that policy might not only be unconstitutional, but also can have profound consequences on our society. Research has consistently demonstrated that individuals driven only, or mainly, by money, are more arrogant, violent and intolerant to diversity. is really that society that we want to built for our children’s future?

On the other hand, it is important that educational institutions have coaching opportunities in order to explore each student potential and ambitions. however, that should not be an imposition made by the institution, in order to avoid traumas. For the reasons exposed above, I argue that students should be free to pursue their dreams and careers.