Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Sometimes I wonder how our society would be if there was a more human and more generalist approach towards education. Instead of preparing better professionals, the aim should be to form better citizens, the ones that will be responsible to deal with the challenge of the future. American universities should look back to their English predecessors to recover that humanity, requiring every student to take a course outside the student’s field of study. I feel that way mainly for three reasons, that will be explored in the following essay.

To begin with, there is a long-lasting debate on whether universities should form generalists or technicians and that’s probably one question for which we will never have a correct answer. However, that policy will prepare the next generation of leaders and world citizens, so a more human and generalist approach should favor the emersion of other abilities, such as compassion. it is always better to be taken care by a doctor who really cares about persons and does not see its patients as mere numbers. By encouraging a medicine student to take classes on psychology, history, arts and other humanities the university will actually be forming a better doctor.

Further, by requiring that students take courses outside their field of study, what will happened is that those students will have contact with other students and professors, that are probably very different of what they are used to. that experience is cardinal to form the student’s critical sense and improve their more introspective social abilities. therefore, even if, at first glance, it might appear to be illogical, recent research has found several benefits caused by that policy. For instance, a recent study by Harvard and MIT professors of neuroscience has found evidence that taking the student out of his comfort zone increases the level of attention liberating more endorphin. In other words, beyond having more attentions, students are also happier!

Finally, some specialists argue that such a policy can have impressive results on the student’s performance. they frequently argue that a broader context in student’s academic life can improves learning capabilities and the academic performance on the major field. The student who has supplementary academic experiences in other fields of study, is exposed to various new concepts and ways of thinking and seeing a same phenomenon. this have the potential to increase the student’s capabilities of concentration and abstractions, two competences that are extremely important in the academia.

therefore, even if it might not be logical, requiring that students take courses outside their field of study might have positive consequences on their academic and social life, besides creating several positive externalities for the society. In fact, researchers have already presented strong evidences that this kind of policy might favor student’s compassion, concentration, critical sense and even the ability of abstraction.